Katiepies

and other scrumptious sweets

Back to doing what I love…. September 30, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — Katiepies @ 5:18 AM
Tags: , , , ,
Enjoy the last of the summer fruit.

Enjoy the last of the summer fruit.

And so I’m back.  Culinary school was not for me-CIA is an exceptional school with amazing instructors and support, but the academic part of the food industry took the passion and joy right out of me.  So I made the difficult decision to regroup and refocus on what I want.  I want to continue testing, tasting and creating yummy sweet treats. It makes me happy when people love the desserts we make!

So here’s a quick dessert idea to enjoy the last of the summer fruit.    Take any fruit you love, mix it with a little sugar, lemon zest and cinnamon if needed and place the mixture into small ramekins.  Top with a crumble mixture you would use on an apple pie (oatmeal, flour, brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and butter).  Bake at 350 degrees for about 30 -40 mins.  Top with ice cream or whipped cream and enjoy.  It’s an easy, quick and great little dessert! :)

Happy Baking,

KatiepiesIMG_1351

 

3 Responses to “Back to doing what I love….”

  1. Wow! Could you maybe speak more to your decision to leave culinary school? I am in my third year of university right now and wanting to attend culinary school when I graduate, but I too am wrestling with whether or not I simply want to learn to cook well (and self-teach) or if I want to go to an official program. I for one would definitely love a post with pros, cons, reflection, etc–it would be helpful for me in my vocational journey!

    • Katiepies Says:

      Hi there,

      Sorry for the late response. I really think it depends on your own preference of learning. I personally think experience in the real industry will teach you a lot of what you need to know. But it depends on what you want to do with your culinary career. I changed my career path and that is why I decided to withdraw from school. But, I will still continue to do it on my free time on the side. Culinary school is a great start for someone who is committed to the industry. You learn a lot more than just how to cook. It is a big financial investment, and unless you plan on becoming a famous chef on TV you will not be making a lot of money in this industry. People who are in the food industry do it because of their passion not for the money. I hope this helps!

  2. Denny Says:

    Congratulations, Katie, on looking at the entire package, and deciding that it is not want you want. That was a tough call, and I’m proud of you for making it now, rather than two years into it. Good luck!!!! xo
    Denny


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers